The Experience of Blogging and Social Media

Photo Credit to anxietybegone.com

Photo Credit to anxietybegone.com

This class was tougher than I expected. Fundamentals of Digital Online Media (FDOM) was a good toughness though. With the direction the economy is moving more jobs are going to require the skills provided in this class. The tools that I felt were the most affective were the Photography tips, which led to our slide shows and the HTML coding. Everyone and anyone is always going to need their picture taken. Knowing the considerations will help turn a plain picture into a Kodak moment. I thought that was pretty cool. As far as the HTML coding, if you know how to do it well enough you will always have a job.

The tools that didn’t stand out so much were the mobile app and some of the twitter social media stuff. There are thousands if not millions of apps out there and to try to upgrade one of the persons favorites may already exist. There creativity was there just the whole idea of the app actually existing. Twitter is a huge resource media and press look at, but for our topics I feel like they had gotten little to know love. Our followers know who we are and our interests. For that one I would have to say us posting something that’s more relatable to college students on twitter. The blog posts I was not familiar with because I’ve never had my own blog, but I can see where the 1,000 true fan idea comes from. If I’m writing about something someone else likes and its encouraging, How could they not want to support it ?

In all me being an advertising major this really helped. It helped me reaching out to others with the blog, being creative with the slide show & imovie and even make a web page from scratch. All important skills I will need to know when moving forward with my job. One day in the office I may need to promote our brand on Facebook or Twitter with just good content. I even may have to create an ad banner for the company website, who knows. What I know is that more time will be put into what I’ve learned this semester, thanks Zmikly.

Leave a comment